Concert 3 Exercise in facing doubt".

A cooperation project between Ensemble Megaphon and Ensemble Reflection K

with works by Gerald Eckert, Snezana Nesic, Luigi Nono and Helena Tulve.

Within the framework of the Festival Music 21 Lower Saxony

Sunday, 8.9. 2019, 11.15 a.m.
Sprengel Museum Hanover

VVK box office at Sprengel Museum from 10:30 a.m.
Admission € 15/10

By this, and this only, we have existed

In our empty rooms

One of the central aspects of this concert can be described as "spatial relations". This can be a poetic approach to imagined spaces, as in the case of the reference to part of "the waste land", a poem by T. S. Eliot. But it can also refer to the existence of differently shaped spaces, to their juxtaposition and their manifold interaction: Whether in Luigi Nono's work it is an acoustic building initiated by almost consistently quiet, subtle sound constellations that pile up into a large sound vault, or in Snezana Nesic's work the superimposition between violin and video, or in Gerald Eckert's "den angestoßenen Augen der Steine" the various degrees of approach and distance of sound figures unbreakably facing each other in the field of tension between what is momentarily emerging in the now and what has already passed.

Or, as Haruki Murakami describes it in his book "1Q84": "(...) Butterflies are extremely fleeting, graceful creatures. They are born, quietly follow their limited tiny needs and imperceptibly disappear again. Perhaps into another world."


Gerald Eckert
"new work " (2019) UA
for flute, clarinet, violin, violoncello and electronics

Luigi Nono
"A Pierre. Dell'azzurro silenzio, inquietum" (1985)
for double bass flute, double bass clarinet and live electronics

Snezana Nesic
"Mirabilia (Litany for Water)" (2017)
for violin and electronics

Gerald Eckert
"Schemes - Field 30" (2014)
for double bass clarinet and tape

Gerald Eckert
"the bumped eyes of the stones" (2014)
for double bass clarinet, violin, live electronics and tape

Helena Tulve
"stream" (2006)
for flute, clarinet, violin and violoncello


Ensemble Megaphon / Ensemble Reflection K

  • Beatrix Wagner, flute
  • Joachim Striepens, clarinet
  • Lenka Zupkova, violin
  • Gerald Eckert, violoncello/ sound direction
  • Andre Bartetzki, live electronics/ video

Sponsored by

MWK Lower Saxony, Cultural Office Hanover

Scroll to Top