Music at the Bauhaus

Within the framework of Three Days of New Music

26.10. 2019 Dornse of the Old Town Hall Braunschweig at 7.30 p.m.

A programme of sounding contemporary testimonies culminating in one of the most important compositions in music history is presented by the "Braunschweiger Klangwerkstatt" in cooperation with the Ensemble Megaphon. For example, the cheerful Suite for Violin and Saxophone by the composer Adolf Busch dates from the year the Bauhaus was founded. Erwin Schulhoff's life and work not only bundles the compositional development of the early 20th century from Schönberg to Dada, but also makes a shattering statement on the darkest chapter of recent European history to date. In addition, some abstract film experiments by Werner Graeff, Hans Richter, Viking Eggeling and Kurt Schwerdtfeger are set to improvisational music.


  • 19:30: Introductory lecture: Music at the Bauhaus (Dr. Vlady Bystrov)
  • 20:00: Braunschweiger Klangwerkstatt and Ensemble Megaphon

Entrance free

Portrait of the composer Adriana Hölzsky

27.10. 2019 Dornse of the Old Town Hall Braunschweig at 11.00 a.m.

Hölszky - Flux Reflux for saxophone solo, Klangwaben for violin solo, Hörfenster für Franz Liszt for piano solo
Braunschweig Sound Workshop and Ensemble Megaphon

 In the works for solo instruments, Adriana Hölszky explores the possibilities of the respective instrument to its limits, which places very high demands on the performers. "Klangwaben" is based on a scientific study of bee signals: the sounds of young queens still enclosed in their cells and the sounds of those that have already hatched.

Remarkable, the reduced, rough and rubbing sound language of the piece, which has a stretched, ticking, gently fading end. "Flux Reflux" means ebb and flow and is not programmatic, but refers to the inner sensation of sound; just as at high tide and low tide the sea water overflows the land and recedes again, so here the sound is supposed to periodically flood the silence.

Entrance free

Scroll to Top