The Rain Passed Over

The Rain Passed Over

Music theatre by Snezana Nesic and Tobias Ribitzki for two sopranos, baritone, 12 players and electronics (2012/2016)

Scene Project The Rain Passed Over

"...Ensemble Megaphon realises the sounds conceived for this with precision and empathy. The sopranos Olivia Stahn and Sophia Körber as well as baritone Daniel Gloger also contribute with their musical personalities. "The Rain Passed Over" succeeds in subtle tonal tightrope walks between fragmentation, deconstruction, paraphrase and condensation. The protagonists fail to find a common language. The ensemble by no means..."

Press commentary

Criticism in the HAZ / Culture & Life in March 2017
"Explanations for rain - The Rain Passed Over" by Thomas Kaestle

What do angels sound like and what do they look like? Fascinated by images and compositions by various artists and composers, the musicians of the Ensemble Megaphon embarked on a journey. In this, poetically spoken word and choral singing combined with compositions from the Middle Ages to the present day, sung by soprano Sophia Körber and played by violin, flute and accordion. Under the artistic direction of Lenka Župková and Klaus Hermann Anschütz, the musicians and the choir spanned a wide range from the oldest chorals to mystical chants from the 12th century by Hildegard von Bingen to the music of the present day. The floating light projections of Paul Klee's angel paintings transformed the church space and merged with the dancer's movements to form a collage. In a production rich in images, the four musicians, a dancer from the music Ensemble Megaphon and the Schola Gregoriana Cellensis wandered through the church and through timeless sound worlds.


Composition: Snezana Nesic
Libretto: Snezana Nesic and Tobias Ribitzki
Musical direction: Sascha Davidovic
Directed by: Tobias Ribitzki
Video projection: Andre Bartetzki
Costumes: Elvira Freind

Singing Soloists: She: Olivia Stahn / He: Daniel Gloger / The Unknown: Sophia Körber
Ensemble Megaphon: Artistic and musical direction: Lenka Župková

Musician: Lenka Zupkova - violin / Gregorzs Krawczak - cello / Yannick Hettich - viola / Ralph Töpsch - flute / Benjamin Fischer - oboe / Sebastian Wendt - clarinet / Snezana Nesic - accordion / Ashley Hribar - piano / Kai Altendorf and Henning Ahlrichs - drums / Yuan-Jou Hsu - keyboard, percussion


MWK Lower Saxony, Foundation of Lower Saxony, City of Hanover

Cooperation partner

Lower Saxony State Opera Hanover

Scroll to Top